Exit Tickets: a way in.

I know exit tickets have been around for a long time, but they are new to me this year.  Quite simply, I love them.  I wonder where they have been my whole life.  They provide a  fast and easy way to find out what my students are learning.   There are times (many times, in fact) when I am busy “teaching” a topic but my students are not actually learning.  Or some of them just don’t get it, no matter how clever or entertaining the lesson plan may have been.

 

exit tix Last week, my grade ten class was working on a literary essay, their second essay this semester.  We’ve done a lot of work on the writing process and they have been, for the most part, doing very well.  When they passed in their exit tickets, though, a clear pattern emerged:  they wanted more instruction on writing introductions and conclusions, and on effectively using transitions.  So, the next day, I started class with mini-lessons on each of those things.  Some students had questions that pertained only to them, so I spoke to each of them about their issues.

The exit tickets offer us a way into our students’ learning–not what we have taught, and for that reason I plan to use them more often. However, because it is new to me, I sometimes forget and fall into my usual routine. Each time I use them, though, I am reminded of just how useful they are.

Below are some interesting ways to use exit tickets that I found on Pinterest:

 

twitter exit 9befd06c67c5819e7965af9404530ac0
9f55a4e20b9f05551edab90718be8bb8

 

 

Leave a Reply

