Grammar Games

I teach with a bunch of amazing teachers who inspire me to be a better teacher, one of whom is my husband.   Students love his physics class because he takes it off the page  by showing them that physics is real and not just a bunch of complicated problems to be solved.  Over the years he has developed many demonstrations and games that illustrate those complicated problems, because he understands the importance of both learning styles and movement.  His efforts have paid off, not only in his own classroom, but in the classrooms of others in our school, where other teachers are finding ways to get students moving and thinking in creative ways.

GG Two I am one of those.  And, I’ll admit that I am not as creative as some others, but I am excited about my latest adventure: Grammar Games.  I was so sick of correcting the same errors over and over again, so I wanted to find a fun way to reinforce the most common student mistakes.  So far, I have games for the proper use of their, your and its, as well as one for fixing fused sentences.  My students love playing the games–it’s amazing how a little competition can turn something that they usually find boring into something fun!  Hopefully, I will see results and eradicate these errors…wishful thinking, I know, but something to strive for!

2 thoughts on “Grammar Games

  1. Learning should be engaging, circle Bloom’s Taxonomy and ge fun. You have done all three and done them really well with these games. “… where other teachers are finding ways to get students moving and thinking in creative ways.” Well said!

    Happy teaching,
    Connie

Leave a Reply

